Q&A #3

Who is the current U.O. 1-mile record holder and what is his time? ___
Who was the previous record holder? ____


Andrew Wheating thrilled the Hayward Field crowd one last time with a blazing 3:51.74 mile Saturday at the Prefontaine Classic (July 3rd, 2010).

Wheating, a senior from Norwich, Vt., was fifth in a Bowerman Mile that saw 10 runners dip below 4:00. Asbel Kiprop of Kenya won in 3:49.75, with Amine Laalou second in 3:50.22, followed by Mekonnen Gebremedhin (3:50.69), Daniel Komen (3:50.70) and Wheating.

Wheating's time was faster than the Oregon school record, 3:53.00, set by Joaquim Cruz in 1984.

Another noteworthy fact:

Earlier in the day, A.J. Acosta blazed to a personal record in the International Mile during the Prefontaine Classic.

Running unattached, the junior from Oceanside, Calif., was the runner-up in 3:53.76. Ryan Gregson of Australia was the winner in 3:53.19.

Acosta's time would have been the second-best in school history, trailing only Cruz.